The ARC/STSA is pleased to welcome Kellie M. McFarlin, MD, FACS, to its Board of Directors. McFarlin is a senior staff member of the Henry Ford Hospital’s Department of Surgery and a clinical assistant professor of surgery at Wayne State University School of Medicine in Detroit, Michigan. She will hold a three-year term concluding in December of 2020.

McFarlin completed an NIH Research Fellowship as a NASA Medical Branch Researcher in Houston, Texas, and an Advanced GI and Minimally Invasive Surgical Fellowship with the University of South Florida’s Department of Surgery in Tampa, Florida. Her surgery residency training was performed at Wayne State University School of Medicine.

As a principle investigator, McFarlin has advanced research in the fields of Surgical Oncology, Pancreatic Cancer and Immunotherapy. She has been recognized for her outstanding service in the field with numerous awards including the John D. Dingall Veteran’s Administration Medical Center Excellence in Surgical Service Award.

McFarlin joins current board member, Dr. Richard Royal, to represent the American College of Surgeons on the ARC/STSA Board. She was appointed by the American College of Surgeons Board of Regents to succeed William G. Hawkins, MD, FACS, whose term concluded in December 2017. The ACS has sponsored the ARC/STSA since its inception in 1972, and provides representation and guidance through two board appointments, which are nominated by the ACS’s Committee on Interprofessional Education and Practice.