The ARC/STSA is proud to announce the recipients of the 2021 scholarship awards. This year, ARC/STSA awarded 10 student scholarships of $500 each and one $1,000 educator scholarship. Join us in celebrating these accomplished recipients, shared below, and stay tuned for more information about their stories throughout the summer. You can also learn more about the recipients on the scholarship page of our website.

Student Scholarship Program Recipients

  • Danna Denby, Concorde Career College-San Bernardino, CA
  • Natasha Dunn, Skyline College-San Bruno, CA
  • Sabrin Ghaleb, Eastwick College, NJ
  • Lisa Kantner, Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences, PA
  • Nicole Martin, San Juan College, NM
  • Gina Marulanda, Concorde Career Institute-Miramar, FL
  • Aja Newberry, Walters State Community College, TN
  • Madison Newell, Pennsylvania College of Technology, PA
  • Brittney Tanner, Wichita State University, KS
  • Ciarra Towry, Indian Capital Technology Center, OK

Chris Keegan Memorial Educator Scholarship Recipient

  • Kendra Thompson, ST-R, CST, Northwest Technical Institute, AR

The Educator Scholarship was renamed in 2018 in memory of Chris Keegan, MA, CST, FAST (pictured left). Chris was an accomplished educator, program director, author, esteemed colleague and friend. Throughout her career, she was a tireless advocate for surgical technology and surgical assisting educators and students, and long-time volunteer with the ARC/STSA, serving on numerous committees and as the resident of the Board of Directors.